APRA AMCOS is pleased to reveal the shortlist for Australia’s most prestigious peer-voted music award – the APRA Song of the Year. Over the past month, APRA AMCOS members across the country have been voting for their favourite song from 2014.
The shortlist features a diverse group of songwriters, with the five finalists to be announced in coming weeks. The APRA Song of the Year winner will be announced at the 2015 APRA Music Awards on Tuesday 24 March at Carriageworks in Sydney.
Hosting the APRA Music Awards for the second time will be RocKwiz’s irreverent co-creator Brian Nankervis. The writer, producer, comedian and music aficionado will be joined by first time APRA Music Awards Musical Director Robert Conley who will curate the evenings live performances.
APRA AMCOS members have until 5.00pm EST on Thursday 29 January to vote for the song they believe deserves to be the APRA Song of the Year. All members who vote are in the running to win a Gibson Les Paul Studio Guitar in Silver Pearl Finish valued at $3,000 and two tickets to the 2015 APRA Music Awards at Carriageworks.
APRA AMCOS will announce the nominees for the 2015 APRA Music Awards, including the APRA Song of the Year in coming weeks.
*Listed in alphabetical order of song title

1998 - (Written and performed by Chet Faker)

A DOG STARVED - (Written by Glenn Richards and performed by Augie March)

ALL NATIONS - (Written by Natalie Pa’apa’a & Carlo Santone and performed by Blue King Brown)

ANONYMOUS CLUB - (Written and performed by Courtney Barnett)

BITTERSWEET - (Written and performed by Kasey Chambers & Bernard Fanning)

CAROL - (Written by Steven Carter, Stewart Rayner & Blake Scott and performed by The Peep Tempel)

CELLOPHANE - (Written by Stuart MacKenzie and performed by King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard)

CHANDELIER - (Written by SIA and Jesse Shatkin (ASCAP) and performed by SIA)

COSBY SWEATER - (Written by Barry Francis, Matthew Lambert, Daniel Smith, Demitris Christopoulos (PRS) & John Kelman (PRS) and performed by Hilltop Hoods)

GERONIMO - (Written by Jason Bovino, Amy Sheppard & George Sheppard and performed by Sheppard)

GOLD - (Written and performed by Chet Faker)

HEART BEATS SLOW - (Written and performed by Angus & Julia Stone)

HIGH - (Written by Adam Hyde, Samuel Littlemore, Nicole Millar & Reuben Styles-Richards and performed by Peking Duk Feat. Nicole Millar)

KIMBERLEY CALLING - (Written and performed by Dan Sultan)

LIVIN IN THE CITY - (Written by John Butler and performed by John Butler Trio)

PICKLES FROM THE JAR - (Written and performed by Courtney Barnett)

PLAY BALL - (Written by Angus Young and Malcolm Young and performed by AC/DC)

ROCK OR BUST - (Written by Angus Young and Malcolm Young and performed by AC/DC)

SARAMONA SAID - (Written by Luke Boerdam, Luke Henery, Michael Richards & James Tidswell and performed by Violent Soho)

SOMEBODY'S TALKING - (Written by Isabella Manfredi, Jack Moffitt, Gideon Bensen, Thomas Champion and Luke Davison and performed by The Preatures)

TALK IS CHEAP - (Written and performed by Chet Faker)

VAN DIEMENS LAND - (Written by Shannon Bourne & Russell Morris and performed by Russell Morris)

WHEN WE'RE OLDER - (Written by Mia Dyson, Lee Pardini (ASCAP) & Erin Sidney (ASCAP) and performed by Mia Dyson)

YOU RUIN ME - (Written by Anthony Egizii, David Musumeci, Jessica Origliasso & Lisa Origliasso and performed by The Veronicas)

Listen to the shortlist on Spotify

2015 APRA Music Awards
Tuesday 24 March | Carriageworks | Sydney
Hosted by Brian Nankervis
Musical Direction by Robert Conley
For further information regarding eligibility for the APRA Song of the Year and the APRA Music Awards please visit the APRA AMCOS website
Tag us on Twitter - @APRA #APRAs
// Ends
For more information:
APRA Music Awards Publicist - Fantin Comes Alive:
Viv Fantin (02) 6687 1965 | 0416 004 515 |
APRA AMCOS Communications:
Paul Judge (02) 9935 7991| |
APRA AMCOS stands for the Australasian Performing Right Association Ltd and the Australasian Mechanical Copyright Owners Society Ltd, who together are responsible for the non-profit collection and distribution of songwriting royalties to approximately 87,000 songwriter, composer and music publisher members, and around 3,000,000 copyright owners worldwide.
About AON: Aon take the hassle out of applying for insurance and deliver great value at an affordable price. To protect your valuable equipment, your public liability or yourself against personal injury you can apply quickly and easily online or call to speak to one of our specialist team. AON is APRA AMCOS’s chosen insurance partner.
About Gibson: Founded in Nashville in 1894, Gibson Brands is a global leader in musical instruments, consumer electronics, and professional audio, and is dedicated to providing the most exceptional customer audio products and experiences in the world.
About NXTGIG: Launching early 2015 NXTGIG is the Australian developed answer to the Global question "What's On Next". Free to download, free to search and free to publish your performance NXTGIG enables discovery - and connection, publishing your performance to any number of "What's On" & GIG Guides.
About The X Studio: Located under the iconic Coca-Cola sign in Kings Cross, The X Studio signals a new era for creativity and luxurious hospitality as the world’s first Multi-Media and entertainment facility.

Copyright © 2014 APRA AMCOS, All rights reserved.

Email us: