Cezary Skubiszewski scores Screen Music Awards trifecta and David Hirschfelder wins Feature Film Score of the Year

Wednesday, 12 Nov 2014

The 2014 Screen Music Awards have tonight celebrated the talented composers who create the music magic behind the small and large screen. Held at Sydney’s City Recital Hall the Screen Music Awards (staged jointly by APRA AMCOS and the AGSC) has honoured composers across 13 categories, with a mix of first-time recipients and returning award winners.

Holding six nominations coming into the event, distinguished music composer Cezary Skubiszewski has taken out three Screen Music Awards. He has won in the category of Best Music for a Documentary for the highly acclaimed Once My Mother and Best Soundtrack Album for The Broken Shore. His composer / producer son Jan Skubiszewski shared the award for their collaboration on Serangoon Road (Episode 6) in the Best Music for a Television Series or Serial category. 

In the prestigious Feature Film Score of the Year category, Academy Award nominated composer David Hirschfelder has received the Screen Music Award for his work on The Railway Man. David has won a total of six awards for his contributions to screen for APRA AMCOS including the International Achievement Award in 2002.  

Composers David McCormack and Antony Partos have won the category of Best Original Song Composed for the Screen for their collaboration on Don’t Let Gofrom the ABC hit series Rake. In the category of Best Television Theme, Burkhard Dallwitz received the Screen Music Award for his work on the crime drama Fat Tony & Co, an Australian television series focusing on the life of Tony Mokbel.
Roger Mason has won the category of Best Music for a Mini-Series or Telemoviefor The Outlaw Michael Howe, the ABC telemovie which chronicled the true story of a man who pushed the colonial government to breaking point. Composer Russell Thornton secured his first ever Screen Music Award for his work on Get Ace (Series 1) in the Best Music for Children’s Television category. Get Ace is an animated television series (screening on Eleven) that follows the adventures of Ace McDougal.
Also winning his first Screen Music Award is Melbourne based composer Luke Howard who has taken out the award for Best Music for a Short Film for Where Do Lilacs Come From. He is joined by another first time winner, composer Ryan Walsh, who received the award for Best Music for an Advertisement for the Tourism Queensland ad Where Australia Shines.
The Most Performed Screen Composer – Australia is composer Jay Stewart who has won this award a remarkable seven times. Composer Neil Sutherland is theMost Performed Screen Composer – Overseas, also for the seventh time, taking his overall tally of APRA AMCOS awards for screen composing to nine.
The International Achievement Award for 2014 was given to the composing partnership of Adam Gock and Dinesh Wicks of The D.A’s Office.
Rob Carlton hosted the 2014 Screen Music Awards with musical direction by award-winning screen composer Ashley Irwin and his orchestra. The event featured presenters Don Hany, Sophie Lowe, Leeanna Walsman, Danielle Cormack, Jessica Tovey, Jon Stevens, Jeremy Lindsay Taylor, Nigel Westlake and David Hirschfelder with performances by The Bamboos and Clairy Browne & the Bangin’ Rackettes.

Site Menu

Search the Website