Grant McLennan Fellowship

Tuesday, 28 Jul 2015

Applications are now open for the 2015 Grant McLennan Fellowship, jointly funded by the Queensland Government through Arts Queensland and APRA AMCOS

For the last eight years Queensland musicians have been vying for the prestigious $25,000 Fellowship which offers the recipient an opportunity to travel to New York, London or Berlin for up to six months and use the experience of being immersed in a foreign and vibrant musical culture to further develop their own artistic skills.

Founded in 2007 in honour of the late Queensland singer-songwriter and co-frontman of The Go-Betweens, Grant McLennan, the Fellowship is an incredible chance for local songwriters to take their careers to a whole new level.

The 2014 winner, Thomas Calder, of burgeoning Brisbane outfit The Trouble With Templeton, says of his experience in London, " [it’s] an incredibly inspiring and enlivening city, and the perfect place to base myself. The people, places, and experiences I've had are ones I'll never forget, and have all affected the music I'm writing in a hugely positive way."

Head of Member Services for APRA AMCOS, Dean Ormston, says “APRA AMCOS is pleased to continue our support for the 2015 Grant McLennan Fellowship. As a songwriter, being able to immerse yourself in another country and culture is an invaluable experience. The Grant McLennan Fellowship provides Queensland songwriters with this fantastic opportunity.”

Applications open on Monday 27 July for individual songwriters and songwriting duos.

You must:

  • Reside in Queensland and be an Australian citizen or permanent resident
  • Be 21 years of age or older
  • Be a member of APRA AMCOS
  • Have satisfied the reporting requirements of any previous Arts Queensland grants
  • Only submit one application in each round (e.g. songwriting duos may not also submit individual applications).

Applications close on August 31, with the winners to be announced in November

Head to for full eligibility requirements and guidelines.

Previous winners of the Grant McLennan Fellowship have been: 

2014: Thomas Calder (The Trouble With Templeton)
2013: Seja Vogel
2012: Louise O’Reilly and Paul Hannan (Laneway)
2011: Scott Spark
2010: Danny Widdicombe & Andrew Morris (The Wilson Pickers)
2009: Helen Franzmann (McKisko)
2008: John Busby and Chris Dale (Halfway)
2007: Greg Charles

The 2015 Grant McLennan Fellowship is joint-funded by Arts Queensland and APRA AMCOS and administered by QMusic

Site Menu

Search the Website