Sia Makes Australian Music History! Winners include Sheppard, Five Seconds of Summer, Illy, M-Phazes, Angus and Julia Stone.

Tuesday, 24 Mar 2015

With songwriting achievements nothing short of sensational, tonight at the 2015 APRA Music Awards, the APRA Board of Publisher and Writer Directors have named Sia (Furler) Songwriter of the Year for the third time. With an uncanny knack for penning a classic pop hook, Sia is the first songwriter ever to be crowned Songwriter of the Year for three consecutive years.

APRA AMCOS CEO Brett Cottle said, “Sia is the first songwriter in the history of the APRA Music Awards to win the Songwriter of the Year three years in a row. This is an unprecedented, and very likely, a never-to-be-repeated achievement by one of our most talented songwriters. Sia has been an APRA member since 1996 and was a co-winner of the inaugural Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year Award in 2002. Since then she has become one of the most successful and acclaimed songwriters of her era. We’re incredibly proud of her achievements and honoured to represent her.”

Sia (with co-writer Jesse Shatkin) has also taken out the peer-voted APRA Song of the Year for ‘Chandelier’, giving her a grand total of six APRA Music Awards over the years.

Check out our Youtube Channel for all the 2015 APRA Music Awards action!

The Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year award has gone to 5 Seconds of Summer. The Australian power-pop band has taken the world by storm with their infectious, anthemic songs. Their self-titled debut album reached #1 on pop charts in 11 countries around the world while they continue to achieve global success.

Currently touring the UK, Sheppard (writers Jason Bovino, Amy Sheppard and George Sheppard), has received two APRA awards. Their hugely successful song ‘Geronimo’ from their debut album Bombs Away, has taken out Pop Work of the Year and Most Played Australian Work.

Co-writers Illy and M-Phazes have won the Urban Work of the Year category for ‘Tightrope’ from Illy’s album Cinematic. Both are riding high on waves of recent success. Grammy award-winning artist M-Phazes is currently one of the most in-demand producers in Australia, with his international credentials rising, and hip-hop artist Illy’s star-rating continues to rise.

The Blues & Roots Work of the Year award has been taken out by brother / sister duo Angus and Julia Stone for ‘Heart Beats Slow’. The first song from their self-titled, third album, ‘Heart Beats Slow’ marked the return of the Stone siblings from a career hiatus, with industry legend Rick Rubin producing of the album.

Thelma Plum and Andy Bull perform Dan Sultan’s ‘Kimberley Calling'

The collaboration between songwriters Joel Fletcher, Demetrius Savelio, Nathan Holmes and Aaron Ngawhika has seen them receive Dance Work of the Year for ‘Swing (Joel Fletcher Remix)’. The chart-topping song has been played on the airwaves of every major radio network around the country. It has also spawned remixes with Pitbull and Soulja Boy.

Adam Eckersley has won the Country Work of the Year category for the first time, along with co-writers Danelle Leverett and Jason Reeves. Adam receives this award for ‘Give Her The World’ - the first cut from Adam Eckersley Band’s debut L.P The First Album.

Winning their first ever APRA Music Award is country Victorian band Stonefield. Songwriter sisters Hannah, Amy, Holly and Sarah Findlay have taken out the Rock Work of the Year award for the gritty ‘Love You Deserve’. Steeped in the now but heavily influenced by the old school, Stonefield are currently working with Spiderbait’s Kram on their forthcoming album.

For the third year in a row the Most Played Australian Work Overseas is the hugely successful ‘Somebody That I Used To Know’, written by Wally de Backer and Luiz Bonfa. Previously announced, the International Work of the Year is ‘Happy’, written and performed by Pharrell Williams.

Kerri-Anne Kennerley presented her long-time friend and music industry trailblazer Fifa Riccobono with the Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music.

Brian Nankervis hosted the 2015 APRA Music Awards, featuring guest presenters Vance Joy, Jimmy Barnes, Melinda Schneider and Kerri-Anne Kennerley.

The awards showcased an exclusive performance by Daniel Johns with his new single ‘Preach’ played live for the very first time. Lisa Mitchell and the E Street Band’s Jake Clemons took on Sheppard’s ‘Geronimo’, while Andy Bull and Thelma Plum performed Dan Sultan’s ‘Kimberley Calling’. Thief, Penelope Austin and M-Phazes teamed up for ‘Bittersweet’ by Kasey Chambers & Bernard Fanning, and Jon Hume, Mark Vincent and Julie Lea Goodwin played ‘You Ruin Me’ by The Veronicas and DNA Songs. Jimmy Barnes and Diesel put their personal stamp on Sia and Jesse Shatkin’s ‘Chandelier’ while Kingswood ended the night with their take on AC / DC’s ‘If You Want Blood’.

Moshcam, in conjunction with the digital roadies Hostworks, will premiere exclusive footage of this year’s performances and interviews with award nominees through direct online access. Highlights of the 2015 APRA Music Awards, including recordings of the live performance, will be made available on the Moshcam website today, Wednesday 26 March from 4.00pm AEDST. 

Please see the complete list of winners of the 2015 APRA Music Awards

Site Menu

Search the Website