Aussie songwriters dominate 2016 Unsigned Only music competition

Friday, 16 Sep 2016

A big congratulations today to our members who have taken home honours in the 2016 Unsigned Only music competition.

Selected from almost 6,000 entries, the winners represent some of the best unsigned artists worldwide in contemporary music. Unsigned Only awards more than US$150,000 in prizes split among 28 winners, including a Grand Prize package of US$20,000 in cash plus merchandise and services.

Founders Candace Avery and Jim Morgan said, “As always, we received a lot of great entries from Australia. The creative excellence of so many of our Aussie entries stood out in the competition, and as usual we had a lot of Aussie winners. We are thrilled to be able to honour and promote Aussie talent on an international scale.” 

Phebe Starr was awarded first place for her song Feel My Love in the AAA (Adult Album Alternative) category. Phebe was named one of Glamour Magazine’s “14 Badass Women of SXSW,” and her winning song has garnered over 1.4 million plays on Spotify.

MOZA was awarded first place for their track On The Line in the EDM (Electronic Dance Music) category. An independent electronic duo, MOZA fuses the individual talents of singer-songwriter Cam Nacson and musician Toby Chew. 

Woodlock was awarded second place honours for their song Build A Kingdom in the Rock category. Gaining recognition and creating a strong following busking on the streets of Melbourne they have since have racked up over four million streams across their catalogue. 

Dino Jag was awarded second place for his song Two Young Hearts in the AC (Adult Contemporary) category, after having first launched into the international music arena in 2005 with his unique cover of the ‘70s classic, Play that Funky Music.

In addition to these wins, APRA AMCOS members have been awarded an additional 20 Honourable Mentions in varying categories in the competition. See below for a complete list.


First Place

Phebe Starr (Sydney, NSW, Australia) – Feel My Love – AAA (Adult Album Alternative)

MOZA (Sydney, NSW, Australia) – On The Line – EDM (Electronic Dance Music)

Second Place

Dino Jag (Adelaide, SA, Australia) – Two Young Hearts – Adult Contemporary (AC)

Woodlock (Melbourne, VIC, Australia) – Build A Kingdom - Rock

Honorable Mentions

Dino Jag – Two Young Hearts - AAA (Adult Album Alternative)

Crawford Brothers – Slowly Creeping Back – AAA (Adult Album Alternative)

Stone Parade  – Only You And Me – AAA (Adult Album Alternative)

Mitch King – Coming Back – AAA (Adult Album Alternative)

Julia Messenger – Stripped – EDM (Electronic Dance Music)

Imogen Brough – Love Is Like A Match – Folk/Singer/Songwriter

Shelley Segal – Sidelined – Folk/Singer/Songwriter

Crawford Brothers – Slowly Creeping Back – Pop/Top 40

Julian Simonsz – Get Home To You – Pop/Top 40

Kobe White – Alright – Pop/Top 40

10YRWAR – If I Only Knew Better – R&B/Hip-Hop

Kobe White – High On You Ft. $WVNG – R&B/Hip-Hop

Stone Parade – Don't Let Me Go – Rock

B Cardamone – Passion To Ashes – Screen Shot

FLUIR – I've Gotta Have You – Screen Shot

Stone Parade – Don't Let Me Go – Screen Shot

Stone Parade – Only You And Me – Screen Shot

Wren – Ireland Meets Tibet – Screen Shot

Kobe White – Alright – Teen

Julian Simonsz (Melbourne, VIC, Australia) – I Do It For You – Vocal Performance

Site Menu

Search the Website