The 2017 Emily Burrows Award goes to Adelaide's Donnarumma

Wednesday, 06 Dec 2017

L-R: Louis Donnarumma, Max Tulysewski, Anthony Costanzo (photo: Helen Page)

Congrats to Adelaide indie rock three-piece Donnarumma, who last night were named the winner of the very special Emily Burrows Award. Each year an up-and-coming South Australian musician or band is recognised for their potential and awarded $5,000 to support their professional development. The award was instituted in 2001 in memory of Emily Burrows, a former APRA AMCOS membership representative and compliance officer, who worked tirelessly to support and encourage South Australian songwriters and composers. The award was established following her tragic, accidental death in 2000. 

Donnarumma joins previous recipients including The Hilltop Hoods, The Beards, Mane, and Electric Fields in receiving the honour.

"APRA AMCOS have continuously supported this band and our desire to create music. We're very touched and honoured to receive this award. For an organisation like APRA to be behind us and to believe in what we've been doing is truly an amazing feeling," said vocalist and frontman Louis Donnarumma.

Donnarumma are building a name for themselves thanks to their energetic live show and a soaring, anthemic sound. They are nominated in two categories for tonight's National Live Music Awards: Live Act of the Year - SA, and Live Voice of the Year (Louis Donnarumma) - SA. 

Site Menu

Search the Website