A.B. Original and Flume lead 2017 APRA Song of the Year Top 20

Thursday, 19 Jan 2017

The shortlist for the 2017 APRA Song of the Year  is here!

As voted by APRA AMCOS songwriter and publisher members, A.B. Original and Flume lead the charge with two songs apiece, while previous Song of the Year winners Sia, Missy Higgins, Daniel Johns and Julian Hamilton also make an appearance in the Top 20.

Exciting newcomers Amy Shark, Tash Sultana, D.D Dumbo and Julia Jacklin cap off a big 2016 with their first entries into the top 20 alongside established songwriters including Nick Cave, Warren Ellis, Gareth Liddiard and Archie Roach.

For 25 years, the APRA Song of the Year has remained an authentic recognition of outstanding local songwriting talent, and this year's shortlist reflects the diversity and creativity in Australian music.

APRA AMCOS members began voting for the 2017 APRA Song of the Year in early December 2016 and for the first time, a voting academy will now determine the nominees and winner from the top 20. The academy comprises previous nominees from the Awards’ 25 year history including Chris Cheney, Katie Noonan, Isabella Manfredi, Mike Noga, Troy Cassar-Daley, Sally Seltmann, Paul Mac and more.

All members who voted automatically go into the draw to win a massive prize pack valued at around $10,000 courtesy of event sponsors, Ableton, Delta Air Lines and Forbes Street Studios.

The 2017 APRA Music Awards will be held on Monday, 3 April 2017 at the new International Convention Centre Ballroom in Sydney’s Darling Harbour.


Listen to the top 20 on Spotify

Full list below

1955 Hilltop Hoods feat. Montaigne and Tom Thum Andrew Burford, Barry Francis, Matthew Lambert and Daniel Smith
2 BLACK 2 STRONG A.B. Original Adam Briggs, Daniel Rankine and Darren Reutens
ADORE Amy Shark Amy Shark
CHEAP THRILLS Sia Sia Furler and Greg Kurstin
COME HOME (CARDINAL PELL)  Tim Minchin Tim Minchin
GAMMA KNIFE King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard Stuart Mackenzie
IT'S NOT TOO LATE Archie Roach Archie Roach and Craig Pilkington
JANUARY 26  A.B. Original feat. Dan Sultan Adam Briggs, Daniel Rankine and Dan Sultan
JUNGLE Tash Sultana Tash Sultana
NEVER BE LIKE YOU Flume Harley Streten aka Flume, Kai and Geoffrey Earley
OH CANADA Missy Higgins Missy Higgins
POOL PARTY Julia Jacklin Julia Jacklin
SATAN  D.D Dumbo Oliver Perry
SAY IT  Flume Harley Streten aka Flume, Julian Hamilton, Daniel Johns and Tove Lo
SET IN STONE Guy Sebastian Guy Sebastian, Stuart Crichton and Taylor Parks
SKELETON TREE Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds Nick Cave and Warren Ellis
SOOTH LADY WINE Matt Corby Matt Corby and John Henriksson
SOUND OF SILENCE  Dami Im Anthony Egizii and David Musumeci
TO THINK THAT I ONCE LOVED YOU  The Drones Gareth Liddiard
VICEROY  Violent Soho Luke Boerdam, Luke Henery, Michael Richards and James Tidswell


Chris Cheney, Isabella Manfredi, Jack Moffitt, Jesse Hooper, Josh Abrahams, Katie Noonan, Kav Temperley, Max Sharam, Mia Dyson, Mike Noga, Paul Mac, Sally Seltmann, Shane Nicholson, Stephanie Ashworth and Troy Cassar-Daley

Grab more info on eligibility for the APRA Song of the Year and the APRA Music Awards.

See the previous APRA Song of the Year winners.

Site Menu

Search the Website