2017 Grant McLennan Fellowship opens for applications

Wednesday, 19 Jul 2017

Nominations are now open for the 2017 Grant McLennan Fellowship, jointly funded by the Queensland Government through Arts Queensland and APRA AMCOS.

Founded in 2007 in honour of the late Queensland singer-songwriter and co-frontman of The Go-Betweens, Grant McLennan, the Fellowship is an incredible chance for local songwriters to take their careers to a whole new level. 

The prestigious $25,000 fellowship offers the recipient an opportunity to travel to New York, London or Berlin for up to six months and use the experience of being immersed in a foreign and vibrant musical culture to further develop their own artistic skills.

These three cities were of special significance in Grant’s life, and for the last ten years have provided Queensland musicians with the same kinds of transformative experiences that made his music so special. 

I can't wait to immerse myself in a city that is constantly whirring with activity” says 2016 recipient Hannah Macklin (MKO Sun) who has chosen to undertake her fellowship in NYC this August “…then return to my brownstone apartment in Bedford Stuyvesant, BK and bunker down for daily songwriting sessions.”

Queensland Premier and Minister for the Arts Annastacia Palaszczuk said the Queensland Government was pleased to support a Fellowship that offered exciting opportunities for the development of songwriting skills.

“The musical works Grant created remain a source of great inspiration for songwriters. Ten years on from the Fellowship’s creation, it continues to provide pathways for developing songwriters who are seeking the experiences that will help them reach their potential.”

“It’s so important to support and invest in the next generation of songwriters. Grant was one of our best! We’re really pleased to be able to recognise Grant’s songwriting and ongoing influence through this fellowship.”
 Dean Ormston, APRA AMCOS’ Head of Member Services.  

Applications open on Wednesday 19 July for individual songwriters and songwriting duos.

You must:

  • Reside in Queensland and be an Australian citizen or permanent resident
  • Be 21 years of age or older
  • Be a member of APRA AMCOS
  • Have satisfied the reporting requirements of any previous Arts Queensland grants
  • Have an ABN
  • Only submit one application in each round (e.g. songwriting duos may not also submit individual applications).

Applications close on September 18, with the winners to be announced in December.

Head to www.qmusic.com.au for full eligibility requirements and guidelines.

Previous winners of the Grant McLennan Fellowship have been;

2016: Hannah Macklin (MKO Sun)
Timothy Steward (We All Want To, Screamfeeder)
 Thomas Calder (The Trouble With Templeton)
2013: Seja Vogel
2012: Louise O’Reilly and Paul Hannan (Laneway)
2011: Scott Spark
2010: Danny Widdicombe & Andrew Morris (The Wilson Pickers)
2009: Helen Franzmann (McKisko)
2008: John Busby and Chris Dale (Halfway)
2007: Greg Charles

Site Menu

Search the Website