Applications open for 2017 Professional Development Awards

Thursday, 09 Mar 2017

Looking for a career boost? Our Professional Development Awards are back!

This year, a new dance/electronic category has been added, bringing the total number of awards to nine. Each recipient will receive a game-changing $15,000 cash prize to support their development.

Applications are now open across the following categories:  

  • Popular Contemporary (three awards are given in this category which covers pop, rock, blues, folk, hip hop and R&B)
  • Country
  • Jazz
  • Classical
  • Dance/Electronic
  • Film and Television
  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander

The awards are intended to provide support to emerging songwriters and composers, and it is expected that the funds will help recipients attend workshops, music education courses, composer seminars, co-writing sessions and other relevant activities - locally or internationally.  

“We’re committed to developing the next generation of music creators,” said APRA AMCOS Head of Member Services, Dean Ormston. 
“Our Professional Development Awards provide tangible support to members looking to take the next steps in their songwriting careers.” 

Previous recipients of APRA Professional Development Awards include Gotye, Abbe May, screen composer Caitlin Yeo, Husky Gawenda, Georgi Kay, Jack Carty, Ngaiire, Morgan Evans and many more. 

We're also pleased to announce that the Smugglers of Light initiative returns in 2017, with the Music and Media Award providing a promising Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander music or media practitioner with a grant of $12,000. The Smugglers of Light Foundation has been set up in memory of Eli Westlake aged 21, who was tragically killed in Sydney in 2008. 

Applications for the awards close on Thursday 27 April, 2017.

Site Menu

Search the Website