Emily Burrows Award recipients hit WOMADelaide

Thursday, 09 Mar 2017

 L-R Matt Swayne (APRA AMCOS), Michael Ross & Zaachariaha Fielding (Electric Fields), Paige Renee Court (Mane), Gary Burrows. Photo by Helen Page.

The exceptional WOMADelaide festival kicks off shortly, and we’re thrilled to see two recipients of the Emily Burrows Award on the bill.

2016 winners Electric Fields and 2015 winner Paige Renee Court (performing as Mane) will be gracing the stage of South Australia’s biggest festival.

If past recipients of the award are anything to go by, we can expect big things from these two acts - previous winners include Hilltop Hoods and The Beards.  

The Emily Burrows Award was instituted in 2001 in memory of Emily Burrows, a former APRA AMCOS membership representative and compliance officer, who worked tirelessly to support and encourage South Australian songwriters and composers. The award was established following her tragic, accidental death in 2000. 

Each year the $5,000 award is given to recognise and further the professional development of original South Australian music artists or bands. Stay tuned for an announcement of the award opening in the second half of 2017.

"We were deeply honoured to receive the prestigious 2016 APRA AMCOS Emily Burrows Award," said Michael Ross of Electric Fields.

"Emily's legacy continues to support and encourage musicians to thrive and Electric Fields is no exception. This cash prize is going directly towards helping us land in 2017 with the things we need. Thank you so much to Emily and Gary Burrows and the wider APRA AMCOS family." 

Heading to WOMADelaide? Don’t miss these exciting new talents!

Mane plays the Moreton Bay Stage at 3pm on Saturday 11 March
Electric Fields
play the Novatech Stage at 8.45pm on Sunday 12 March

Site Menu

Search the Website