Screen Music Awards honours Martin Armiger, presenters and performers announced

Wednesday, 25 Oct 2017

APRA AMCOS and the Australian Guild of Screen Composers are delighted to announce that Martin Armiger, Australian musician, educator, record producer, film and television composer will be the recipient of the inaugural Distinguished Services to the Australian Screen Award. Martin will receive his honour at the 2017 Screen Music Awards on Monday 13 November at the Melbourne Recital Centre.

Kicking off his music career as a singer, songwriter and guitarist for legendary Melbourne based rock band The Sports, in 1972 he started his screen profession composing music for a short film called Drac. From 1984 Armiger was musical director for the much-loved ABC series Sweet and Sour, a 20-episode, weekly pop music, drama TV series. A musical all-rounder, he provided backing vocals, lead guitar, bass guitar, keyboards, drums and lyrics and produced the soundtrack album.

Armiger has composed music for fourteen feature films, a dozen telemovies and yet another dozen TV mini-series, as well as for many documentaries, long running television series and short films. His list of works includes feature films Thank God He Met Lizzie and Young Einstein, television series The Secret Life of Us, mini-series Come In Spinner and Bodysurfers, Police Rescue, and the documentary Cane Toads. He was also president of the AGSC for seven years.

In addition to his composition achievements, Armiger has contributed greatly to developing the next generation of screen composers through his role as Head of Screen Music at AFTRS over the past 14 years. “I am awed and ‘umbled, shocked and delighted and very proud to be the inaugural recipient of this award. Can you be humble and proud at the same time? Well if you can be, I am. I want to say a thousand ‘thank yous’ to APRA AMCOS and the Guild for their support over a long period,” said Armiger.

Replacing the International Achievement Award, the Distinguished Services to the Australian Screen Award will honour outstanding contributions to the film and television industry, made by producers, directors, philanthropists, educators, music supervisors and event producers that provide promotion, opportunities and education for Australian screen composers.

As host for the evening, comedian Denise Scott will be joined on stage by presenters Burkhard Dallwitz, (screen composer and multiple Screen Music Award winner), producer Elisa Argenzio (Underbelly and the Wolf Creek television series), CEO of Film Victoria Jenni Tosi, and Martin Foley MP, Minister for Creative Industries in Victoria. Rounding out the presenters list is actor and director Daina Reid whose directing credits include episodes of The Secret River, Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries and Offspring. The celebrated film critic, writer, producer and television presenter Margaret Pomeranz will also attend the Screen Music Awards a special guest presenter.

Nominated artist, rapper, record label head, comedy writer and actor Briggs will perform with soul and beats singer Caiti Baker and fellow nominee Justin Shave. Missy Higgins, also nominated, will perform alongside brother Dave Higgins. From the opera world, mezzo-soprano Jacqueline Dark will join Musical Director Jessica Wells who will lead an orchestra to perform nominated scores.

Site Menu

Search the Website