Sydney’s Spruced Moose win Rockin’ The Puburbs

Tuesday, 25 Sep 2018

Sydney Inner West band Spruced Moose has won the 2018 Rockin’ the Puburbs live music competition - beating a strong field of almost 200 other pub acts from across the state. Spruced Moose is made up of Nigel Malcolm (keyboard), Alex Blair (electric guitar), Angus Bowring (vocals), Declan Bowring (bass guitar) and James Angus Mackinnon (drums). 

Judges said the five piece alternative band, which describes itself as “fuelled on a diet of cheeseburgers, iced coffee and suburban mangoes”, had “raw energy.” 

“As a panel, we considered Spruced Moose displayed a talent and raw energy, and we are excited to watch as they develop further,” said AHA NSW Director of Liquor and Policing John Green – one of the panel of judges. “Spruced Moose was the band which most reflected what Rockin’ the Puburbs is about – giving aspiring musicians an opportunity. They were the winners from a quality field.” 

The annual competition, run by AHA NSW in conjunction with APRA AMCOS and MusicNSW, is open to any NSW-based pub act which performs at least one song of original material. Finalists for this year’s contest featured pub bands and live music acts from the Inner West, Central Coast, Rockdale, Northern Beaches, Western Suburbs and Northern NSW. 

AHA NSW CEO John Whelan said the competition is all about supporting live music in pubs. “Many of Australia’s top music acts first got their start down at their local and the aim of Rockin’ the Puburbs is to support local music talent and give them a leg up in the industry,” he said. 

The band will now receive $12,000 towards a tour of NSW pubs. Band members will also receive $3000 towards a dedicated tour publicist and a mentoring session with an APRA AMCOS Ambassador,.

The annual competition is open to any NSW-based pub act which performs at least one song of original material. Last year’s competition was won by punk pop group Rackett from the Northern Beaches.

Rockin' The Puburbs is proudly sponsored by AHA NSW, APRA AMCOS, MusicNSW and Young Henrys.

Site Menu

Search the Website