State Award for New South Wales 

Ian Cleworth, for his superb long-term contribution to Australian music.

State Award For South Australia

Tristram Cary for his long-term contribution to Australian music. Tristram’s outstanding career as an innovator in electronic music, composer and educator, has profoundly influenced the development of electronic music in Britain, Australia and the USA. He has received numerous awards for his outstanding contributions, including the prestigious Prix Italia.

State Award for Victoria

Holland's Utrecht String Quartet performing Gordon Kerry Variations for String quartet for Musica Viva Australia tour in Melbourne.

State Award for Queensland

Queensland Youth Symphony performing Carl Vine’s Symphony No. 2. The QYO set itself a difficult challenge in choosing to perform this work, however the final performance was hailed as ‘amazing’ by the composer himself and was impressed by the incredible care taken with the music.

State Award for Western Australia

Iain Grandage for his composition The Silence written for the West Australian Symphony Orchestra.  The work explores the theme of the loss of the parent, with brilliant use of musical quotations and parody; it captivated its intended young audience from beginning to end.

State Award for Tasmania

David Malone for his individual contribution though his work as a performer, artistic director and educator.

* Works of the Year categories were assessed by APRA on the basis of performance activities as registered with APRA throughout 2006.
** State/Territory Awards for ACT and NT were not awarded this year.

Site Menu

Search the Website