Held every two years, the APRA Professional Development Awards aim to create serious opportunities for emerging songwriters and composers in the following categories:

  1. Popular Contemporary (three awards are given in this category including Pop, Rock, Blues, Folk, Hip Hop and R&B);
  2. Country;
  3. Jazz;
  4. Classical;
  5. Film & Television;
  6. Dance/Electronic and;
  7. Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander.

There's a total prize pool of around $140,000 that will be shared by the nine winners.

Once again in 2017, the Smugglers of Light initiative will form part of the PDAs. Now in its second year, the Music and Media Award will provide a promising Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander music or media practitioner a grant of $12,000. The Smugglers of Light foundation has been set up in memory of Eli Westlake aged 21, who was tragically killed in Sydney on 7 June 2008.

If you are under 18, you will need a scanned letter of authority from your parent or guardian.


Site Menu

Search the Website