'In My Mind' earns a place on The 1,000,000,000 List

Wednesday, 11 Mar 2020

(L-R: Georgi Kay - photo by Nicolas Demarais; Ivan Gough and Peppermintblue Publishing’s Smiley Cleary - photo by Daniel Boud; Aden Forte and Josh Soon with Dean Ormston - photo by The Industry Observer.)

Congratulations Georgi Kay, Ivan Gough, Aden Forte and Josh Soon

The songwriting team behind the worldwide hit ‘In My Mind’ were presented with their respective awards and place on The 1,000,000,000 List at events in Sydney and Los Angeles in February.

Aden Forte and Josh Soon are the electronic duo Feenixpawl, and together with Georgi Kay and Ivan Gough they wrote a song that since its release in 2012 has been on an incredible journey.

The dance track gained huge popularity when remixed by Axwell, and subsequently appeared on the Swedish House Mafia 2012 album. Axwell also performed the song at Tomorrowland Festival in 2012, which was filmed for the official after-movie.

Nominated for a Grammy Award for Best Remixed Recording (non-classical) in 2013 and certified twice platinum in five countries, ‘In My Mind’ spent eleven weeks at #1 on the ARIA Club Tracks. The song took home the ARIA for Best Dance Release in 2012 and the APRA Dance Work of the Year in 2013. 

Hip-hop star Flo Rida re-worked the song (twice) and in 2018, ‘In My Mind’ topped charts again with a re-working by producer Dynoro and Gigi D’Agostino.

‘In My Mind’ was hugely successful in Europe, reaching diamond certification in France, Germany and Poland.

“It just skyrocketed and just achieved so much and I know we’re all very thankful for that song doing leaps and bounds,” Georgi upon receiving the award in Los Angeles.

Congratulations to the publishers: Peppermintblue Publishing, on behalf of Universal Music Publishing for Aden Forte, Josh Soon and Ivan Gough; and to Sony/ATV Music Publishing Australia for Georgi Kay. 

The 1,000,000,000 List takes into account streaming numbers from all major services including Spotify, Apple Music, YouTube, Vevo, Amazon, Google Play and more. It is the first award of its kind to recognise a songwriter’s achievement.

Site Menu

Search the Website