Publisher News

Thursday, 12 Mar 2015


ABC Music Publishing is thrilled to welcome one of Australia’s greatest songwriters, Tim Rogers together with the one and only You Am I in a venture that covers Tim’s future songwriting and includes rights to iconic You Am I albums  Sound As Ever,  Hi Fi Way, Hourly Daily and the forthcoming You Am I studio album. 

Tim Rogers has fronted You Am I since 1989 and has also released several critically acclaimed solo albums and collaborative records. 

You Am I’s place in Australia’s musical and popular culture is unsurpassed. Tim Rogers, Andy Kent, Russell Hopkinson and Davey Lane continue to unite sentiments amongst music fans, industry tastemakers and the music media as reflected in consecutive number 1 albums, multiple ARIA awards, triple j’s hottest compiles and greatest Australian albums of all time lists.  Most significantly, You Am I is one of Australia’s most influential bands, consistently cited and lauded by new generations of Australian artists. Their fans’ deep affection for You Am I traverses their timeless songs, revered musicianship and the band’s infectious live sets.

A box set entitled Live Electrified including the LPs, live DVD of the 2013 shows and You Am I fan memorabilia was released in December 2014.


One of Australia’s most renowned and respected composers, Ross Edwards has signed with Alberts for worldwide representation of his vast catalogue of works. Ross is currently composing music for a ballet commissioned by the Houston Ballet and his Concerto for Guitar and String Orchestra “Arafura Dances” was recently recorded and released by renowned guitarist John Williams together with the English Chamber Orchestra.

San Cisco’s triple j feature album, ‘Gracetown’ is now out. The Fremantle favourites are currently touring the USA, UK and Europe before returning for a national album tour and Groovin’ The Moo. March also has Megan Washington touring the UK with English singer songwriter Billy Lockett, The Delta Riggs playing stadiums around the country with Foo Fighters and Rolls Bayce kicking off their first national tour.

In licensing, “LET ME ENTERTAIN YOU” (Robbie Williams) features in a campaign for the NRL, “SUPERHEROES” (The Script) features in a promo for Sky Sports (NZ), “PERFECT TO ME” (Emi Green) and “ALL THE VERY BEST OF US” (Josh Pyke) features in the TV series, Winners & Losers. 


Native Tongue America has secured a notable sync for Clairy Browne & The Bangin’ Rackettes. An advertisement for JCPenney featuring ‘Love Letter’ made its debut in front of millions during the US Academy Awards (Oscars) telecast.

Eddie Van Halen and Alex Van Halen of the legendary rock group Van Halen have signed an exclusive worldwide deal with Native Tongue partner, Atlas Music Publishing. Native Tongue is excited to now be representing this classic catalogue in this territory.

Native Tongue is also thrilled be the sub-publisher for Pulse Publishing in Australia and New Zealand.

Pulse is home to more than 70 of today's top songwriters, producers and artists, including hitmakers Bonnie McKee (Katy Perry, Britney Spears, Cher, Ke$ha), Christian “Bloodshy” Karlsson (Madonna, Britney Spears, Galantis, Miike Snow), Tim Pagnotta (Neon Trees, Walk The Moon), Oliver Goldstein (Jennifer Lopez, Kelly Clarkson, Christina Aguilera), Tony Maserati (Beyonce, P!nk, Lady Gaga, Robin Thicke), and Anne Preven (Madonna, Miley Cyrus).


UMPG Australia would like to congratulate M-Phazes after the Melbourne based producer won a 2015 Grammy Award for his work on Eminem's MMLP2. M-Phazes co-wrote and co-produced the album's opening track 'Bad Guy'. MMLP2 was named 'Rap Album of the Year' at the 56th annual Grammy Award Ceremony in Los Angeles earlier this year.

Universal Music Publishing Australia has also recently signed a global music publishing deal with multi-platinum producer/songwriter One Above (a.k.a. Andrew Burford). A talented multi-instrumentalist with a unique ability to fuse live instruments with progressive electronic elements, One Above has also co-written and produced singles for Illy (‘Heard It All’) which was last week certified Gold, Allday (‘You Always Know The DJ’) and Chance Waters (‘Young and Dumb’ feat. Bertie Blackman) and is currently working on new material with such artists as Drapht, Pez and Kylie Auldist. Also via his work with Hilltop Hoods and Allday, One Above had two songs featured on the 2014 triple j Hottest 100 songs list.

One Above joins a UMP Australia roster that includes 360, Passenger, M-Phazes, The Veronicas, The Aston Shuffle, Guy Sebastian, Horrorshow, Jessica Mauboy, Louis Schoorl, Wolfmother, The Potbelleez, Jackie Onassis, Bag Raiders and many more.


On the home front, Mushroom Music Publishing is excited to have Kasey Chambers, Sheppard, Dan Sultan, Chet Faker, The Preatures, 5 Seconds of Summer, Stonefield, The Jezabels, Bliss n Eso, Illy, Pharrell Williams, Magic! and Eminem amongst the nominated for the APRA Music Awards 2015.

A massive congratulations to Dan Sultan for going Gold with Blackbird and Chet Faker for going Platinum with Built On Glass.

Up and coming artist Aurelia has joined the family. DMA’s have announced their signing to Infectious for UK/EU and Mom & Pop for US.

The 3rd Mushroom Music Recording Grant is open for submissions to our writers.

In international news Good Soldier Songs (The Wombats, The 1975) have signed.

Mushroom Sync have been busy with licences for Michael Hill Jewellers (Mindy Smith “Top of The World”) which also aired during the Superbowl in some parts of the USA, Channel 7’s AFL Promo (Boom Crash Opera “The Best Thing”), Woolworths (Quincy Jones “Soul Bossa Nova”) and Real Insurance (George Ezra “Blame It On Me”).

Tags: APRAP , Publisher news ,
Site Menu

Search the Website