Liza Lim, Sandy Evans & Cat Hope among recipients of 2016 Art Music Fund grants

Wednesday, 01 Jun 2016

Twelve composers have been awarded grants worth a total of $100,000 in the inaugural Art Music Fund, presented by APRA AMCOS with support from the Australian Music Centre.

The successful applicants include established and emerging composers, with 45% of funding going to female composers. Composers from Victoria, New South Wales, Western Australia, South Australia and New Zealand were all successful, and their proposed works traverse chamber music, electronics, non-Western music and jazz.

“We were thrilled to receive more than 100 applications for the first Art Music Fund,” said Nigel Westlake, composer, APRA Writer Board Member and, until recently, Chair of the Australian Music Centre.

“Ten applications received funding, and the diversity of the recipients and their work highlights the innovative nature of the art music sector," said Nigel.

“It was fantastic to see women composers feature so prominently, and we look forward to seeing all of these new works reach audiences in Australasia and around the world.”

A committee of composers, performers, festival organisers, industry organisations and administrators consulted on the establishment of the grants, from design through to the final review process.

The Art Music Fund was established to provide much-needed support for classical, jazz and experimental composers to both compose and perform their works. Applications were assessed on the viability of the proposed project, the quality of the work, and the strategy for the life and reach of the work.

2016 Art Music Fund recipients

Composer State Description
Sandy Evans NSW Bridge of Dreams, a major international intercultural work for 17-piece big band, Hindustani quartet (voice, harmonium, two tabla players) and saxophone soloist.
Alexander Garsden VIC Alfa Canvas, after Agnes Martin for percussionist and fixed electronics (12-15 minutes) and tolle lege, tolle lege for percussion quartet and live electronics (25-30 minutes).
Samuel Holloway NZ A substantial piece for piano trio, approximately 15 minutes in duration.
Cat Hope WA A series of 'chamber concertos' - single movement, 10 minute works, for electronic soloist and six piece ensemble, Decibel.
Mark Oliveiro NSW
Meg Travers WA
James Hullick VIC CityTopias is a suite of four new works that will tour Asia, composed by James Hullick for the BOLT Ensemble (octet) and sonic technologies that explore the notion of the affix of -topia, and how it relates to our imaginings of 21st century society.
Lisa Illean London/NSW A new work for soprano and medium-sized ensemble, for world premiere by Ensemble Offspring in Australia in 2017.
Liza Lim VIC A major new work of 40 minutes' duration entitled Wayfaring in the Weather World for the internationally renowned Ensemble Klangforum Wien, based in Vienna.
Matthias Schack-Arnott VIC The creation of an ambitious new solo percussion work, Field Sever Points, featuring an expansive kinetic percussion instrument.
Dan Thorpe SA [ false cognate ] will be written for bass flute and electric guitar (or viola).
Erkki Veltheim VIC Create, perform and record a 60 minute work for electric violin and live electronics, entitled The Ganzfeld Experiment.

Read more about the Art Music Fund here.

Site Menu

Search the Website