2016 Screen Music Awards nominees announced

Tuesday, 27 Sep 2016

The scores for highly successful Australian feature films Oddball and The Dressmaker are just two of the musical creations that have been nominated for the 2016 Screen Music Awards.

Highlighting the depth of talent in the Australian screen music field, multiple nominees for 2016 include established composers Antony Partos, Michael Yezerski, David Hirschfelder, Caitlin Yeo, David Bridie, Christopher Larkin, Neil Sutherland, Ricky Edwards, Matteo Zingales, Adam Gock and Dinesh Wicks.

There are also some exciting first time nominees in the mix including singer/songwriter Sally Seltmann and former member of The Avalanches, Darren Seltmann along with Adam Moses, Nicholas Robert Thayer, Tristan Dewey, Helen Grimley, Anthony Egizii, David Musumeci, Michael Szumowski, Cornel Wilczek, Jeremy Yang, Peter Cavallo, Sarah Aarons, Graham Donald, Tai Jordan, Mark Pearl and Timothy Cheel.

A panel of highly respected Australian film and television composers have decided the nominees across 10 of the award categories. Nominees for Most Performed Screen Composer - Australia and Most Performed Screen Composer - Overseas have been determined by analysis of performance activity.

The winners will be announced at a gala event in Sydney at the City Recital Hall on Tuesday 8 November where the screen music community will gather to celebrate the composers who write music for the small and large screen. They will be joined by Emmy Award winning screen composer Ashley Irwin, who will lead a live orchestra that will perform a selection of nominated compositions. The Chaser’s Chris Taylor and Andrew Hansen will host the ceremony.


Feature Film Score of the Year

Title: 99 Homes
Composed by: Antony Partos and Matteo Zingales

Title: Crew Cut
Composed by: Timothy Cheel and Christopher Larkin

Title: Oddball
Composed by: Cezary Skubiszewski

Title: The Dressmaker
Composed by: David Hirschfelder

Best Music for a Documentary
Title: Getting Frank Gehry
Composed by: Caitlin Yeo

Title: Neon
Composed by: Antony Partos

Title: Putuparri and the Rainmakers
Composed by: David Bridie
Published by: Mushroom Music

Title: The Will to Fly
Composed by: Tom Rouch
Published by: Native Tongue Music Publishing

Best Music for a Short Film
Title: Banana Boy
Composed by: Adam Moses

Title: Daisy Chain
Composed by: Hylton Mowday

Title: Letting Blood
Composed by: Nicholas Robert Thayer

Title: Ravens
Composed by: Michael Yezerski with additional music by Helen Grimley

Best Soundtrack Album
Title: All About E
Composed by: Basil Hogios

Title: Only the Dead
Composed by: Michael Yezerski

Title: Sherpa
Composed by: Antony Partos

Title: The Dressmaker
Composed by: David Hirschfelder

Best Original Song Composed for the Screen
Title: Dancing in the Darkness from The Letdown
Composed by: Darren Seltmann and Sally Seltmann*
Published by: Sony ATV Music Publishing Australia*

Title: Maurice's Big Adventure from Big Adventure
Composed by: Sean Peter
Published by: ABC Music Publishing

Title: Those Friends of Mine from Pawno
Composed by: Tristan Dewey, Tai Jordan and Mark Pearl

Title: When You Were on the Run from No Activity
Composed by: Cameron Bruce

Best Music for Children’s Television
Title: Bottersnikes & Gumbles: Up, Up and Away
Composed by: Michael Szumowski
Published by: J Albert & Son and Cheeky Little Media

Title: Mako: Island of Secrets: Homecoming
Composed by: Ricky Edwards and Brett Aplin

Title: Transformers Rescue Bots: The Last of Morocco
Composed by: Christopher Elves
Published by: Mushroom Music obo Britteridge Publishing / BMG Platinum Songs

Title: The New Adventures of Figaro Pho: Odd Socks
Composed by: Michael Darren, Luke Jurevicius and Christopher Larkin

Best Television Theme
Title: Compass
Composed by: Caitlin Yeo
Published by: ABC Music Publishing

Title: Here Come the Habibs
Composed by: Kyls Burtland

Title: Nos Youm
Composed by: Peter Cavallo

Title: Tomorrow When the War Began
Composed by: Cameron Giles-Webb and Colin Simkins
Published by: Universal Music Publishing obo Ambience Entertainment

Best Music for a Television Series or Serial
Title: Glitch: There Is No Justice
Composed by: Cornel Wilczek

Title: Janet King: The Invisible Wound
Composed by: Antony Partos
Published by: Sonar Music

Title: The Principal: Revolution School
Composed by: Roger Mason

Title: Wanted: Series 1 Episode 6
Composed by: Michael Yezerski
Published by: Red Music Publishing

Best Music for a Mini-Series or Telemovie
Title: DNA Nation
Composed by: Matteo Zingales

Title: Peter Allen: Not the Boy Next Door
Composed by: Michael Yezerski and Ashley Irwin
Published by: Shine Australia

Title: Secret City
Composed by: David Bridie
Published by: Mushroom Music

Title: The Beautiful Lie
Composed by: Alan John

Best Music for an Advertisement
Title: 2016 AICP Opening
Composed by: Jeremy Yang

Title: Cadbury Marvellous Creations
Composed by: Rafael May

Title: Country Racing Victoria: It’s Got it All
Composed by: Robert Upward
Published by: Mushroom Music

Title: Rio 2016 Olympics
Composed by: Sarah Aarons*, Anthony Egizii^, David Musumeci^ and Graham Donald~
Published by: Sony ATV Music Publishing Allegro*, Sony ATV Music Publishing Australia^ and Red Music Publishing~

Most Performed Screen Composer – Australia
Composers: Adam Gock and Dinesh Wicks
Composer: Jay Stewart
Composer: Neil Sutherland
Composer: Nick Perjanik

Most Performed Screen Composer – Overseas
Composers: Adam Gock and Dinesh Wicks
Composer: Alastair Ford
Composer: Neil Sutherland
Composer: Ricky Edwards

Site Menu

Search the Website