APRA and AMCOS Board Election Results

Wednesday, 13 Nov 2019

APRA AMCOS held two annual general meetings in Sydney today.

Re-elected to the APRA Board were Writer Jenny Morris and Publisher Damian Trotter (Sony/ATV Music Publishing Australia). Writers Bic Runga and Jonathan Zwartz and Publisher Andrew Jenkins (Universal Music Publishing) were newly elected to the Board.

Since the release of her first single 'Drive' in 1996 – a top ten hit when she was just twenty – Bic Runga has been awarded almost every musical honour in New Zealand, including the prestigious APRA Silver Scroll songwriting award. Bic has won the most Tuis (New Zealand Music Awards) by an individual (twenty). In 2016 she was the recipient of the Legacy Award at the New Zealand Music Awards and was inducted in to New Zealand Music Hall of Fame.

Jonathan Zwartz is a multi-award winning musician, film composer, curator and live music advocate. He has released three albums under his own name with the most recent winning an ARIA Award for Best Jazz Album. He curated and co-produced a ten part series for ABC TV entitled ‘The Pulse’. He is an APRA AMCOS Ambassador and an active campaigner for greater exposure of Australian music in mainstream media.

Andrew Jenkins is President, Australia and Asia Pacific Region, for Universal Music Publishing Group (UMPG). He is responsible for UMPG’s activities in Australasia, Asia, Africa and the Middle East, as well as for global society and industry matters. He has been responsible for the Australian offices of both BMG Music Publishing and subsequently Universal Music Publishing since 1993. 

Jenny Morris and Ian James were named as Chair and Deputy Chair of the APRA Board.

On the AMCOS Board, Publishers Clive Hodson (Perfect Pitch Publishing), Steve McPherson (Hillsong Music Publishing Australia), Simon Moor (Kobalt Music Publishing Australia), and Philip Walker (Origin Music Publishing) retained their positions. Andrew Jenkins (Universal Music Publishing) was newly elected to the Board.

Ian James and Marianna Annas were named as Chair and Deputy Chair of the AMCOS Board.

The APRA Board

1.     Jenny Morris OAM, Writer Director (Chair) (re-elected)

2.     Ian James, Mushroom Music (Deputy Chair) 

3.     Marianna Annas, ABC Music Publishing

4.     Amanda Brown, Writer Director

5.     Matthew Capper, Warner/Chappell Music Australia

6.     Brendan Gallagher, Writer Director

7.     Andrew Jenkins, Universal Music Publishing (newly elected)

8.     Chris Neal, Writer Director

9.     Bic Runga, NZ Writer Director (newly elected)

10.   Damian Trotter, Sony/ATV Music Publishing (re-elected)

11.   Philip Walker, Origin Music Group

12.   Jonathan Zwartz, Writer Director (newly elected)

The AMCOS Board

1.    Ian James, Mushroom Music (Chair)

2.     Marianna Annas, ABC Music Publishing (Deputy Chair)

3.     Philip Burn, Hal Leonard

4.     Matthew Capper, Warner/Chappell Music Australia

5.     Jaime Gough, Native Tongue Music

6.     Peter Hebbes, Hebbes Music Group

7.     Clive Hodson, Perfect Pitch Publishing (re-elected)

8.     Andrew Jenkins, Universal Music Publishing (newly elected)

9.     Steve McPherson, Hillsong Publishing (re-elected)

10.   Simon Moor, Kobalt Music Group (re-elected)

11.   Damian Trotter, Sony/ATV Music Publishing

12.   Philip Walker, Origin Music Group (re-elected)

APRA and AMCOS Board directors are elected by their respective memberships through a secure ballot. The process and results of the elections are audited and verified by APRA AMCOS’ independent auditors, KPMG.

APRA Australian Writer Election


% of votes received

Jenny Morris (re-elected)


Jonathan Zwartz (newly elected)


Nerida Tyson-Chew


Jake Mason


Kate Miller-Heidke


Kristy Lee Peters


Art Phillips


Felicity Wilcox


Ken Francis


John Prior


APRA New Zealand Writer Election


% of votes received

Bic Runga (newly elected)


Jan Hellriegel


Marshall Smith        


APRA Publisher Election


% of votes received

Damian Trotter, Sony / ATV Music Pubishing Australia (re-elected)


Andrew Jenkins, Universal Music Publishing (newly elected)


Jaime Gough, Native Tongue Music Publishing


AMCOS Election


% of votes received

Simon Moor, Kobalt Music Publishing Australia (re-elected)


Philip Walker, Origin Music Publishing (re-elected)


Andrew Jenkins, Universal Music Publishing Australia (newly elected)


Clive Hodson, Perfect Pitch Publishing (re-elected)


Steve McPherson, Hillsong Music Publishing Australia (re-elected)


Rachel Kelly, Downtown Music ANZ


Matt Donlevy, Cooking Vinyl Music Publishing Australia


Lee McDonald, Fable Music 


Jane English, Music Sales 


Need more information?

Writers please contact our Writer Services team on 1800 642 634 or email writer@apra.com.au

Publishers please contact our Publisher Relations team on (02) 9935 7900 or email publisherapp@apra.com.au

Site Menu

Search the Website