2019 Professional Development Awards winners announced

Wednesday, 25 Sep 2019

2019 APRA PDA winners

(L-R: Imogen Clark, Deline Briscoe, Pru Montin, Niran Dasika, Amanda Cole, Ecca Vandal. Photo credit: Jess Gleeson)

Angie McMahon, Ecca Vandal, Mojo Juju, Deline Briscoe, Amanda Cole, Imogen Clark, Beatrice Lewis, Pru Montin and Niran Dasika receive the career-changing award

Jess Hitchcock wins Smugglers of Light Music and Media Award

An impressive next wave of Australian songwriters and composers were announced as winners in the 2019 APRA PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT AWARDS (PDAs).

Held every two years, the PDAs exist to support emerging songwriters and composers across a variety of genres and categories by providing a cash award and recognition at a pivotal stage in their respective career.

The winners for the 2019 APRA PDAs:

Angie McMahon – Popular Contemporary
Ecca Vandal – Popular Contemporary
Mojo Juju – Popular Contemporary
Deline Briscoe – Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander
Amanda Cole – Art Music
Imogen Clark - Country
Beatrice Lewis – Dance/Electronic
Pru Montin – Film and Television
Niran Dasika - Jazz

“The calibre of the recipients of the Professional Development Awards signals the strength of Australian music. Acknowledging and investing in our homegrown talent is crucial to their next career steps, and we look forward to seeing and hearing what the future holds for all of them,” said APRA AMCOS Chief Executive Dean Ormston.

Each winner is awarded a $15,000 cash prize as well as M50x Studio Headphones courtesy of Audio Technica and an ‘Aon Wallet’ Insurance Package.

Actor, songwriter and award-winning opera singer, Jess Hitchcock, has been named the recipient of the Indigenous Music and Media Award from the Smugglers of Light, a foundation set up in memory of 21-year-old Eli Westlake, who was tragically killed in 2008. Hitchcock receives a grant of $12,000 which was presented today by Australian composer and conductor Nigel Westlake.

A panel of judges comprising Lior, Jenny Morris, Jonathan Zwartz, Brooke McClymont, Cat Hope, Dan Zilber, Leah Flanagan, Tania Doko, Francois Tetaz and more have determined the impressive winners from a pool of over 900 applicants.

Previous winners include Gotye, Ainslie Wills, Julia Jacklin, Timothy Carroll, Ruby Boots, Briggs, VASSY, Jeremy Rose and screen composer Caitlin Yeo.

And over in New Zealand, the potential of the applicants was so impressive that judges selected five songwriters and composers, rather than the traditional three. Congratulations to singer-songwriter Delaney Davidson; dream-pop artist, producer, and songwriter Brooke Singer; composer Maxwell Stone; singer-songwriter Jamie McDell; and composer Reuben Jelleyman.

Stream music from the winners at Apple Music and Spotify.

Site Menu

Search the Website