Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Music Office announces $100,000 Sustainability Fund recipients

Wednesday, 26 Aug 2020

(L-R: Emma Donovan, Chris Tamwoy, Miiesha, Zaachariaha Fielding)

50 x $2,000 grants awarded
Recipients include Chris Tamwoy, Miiesha, TRIALS, Joe Geia, Emma Donovan, Zaachariaha Fielding, Deline Briscoe, Allara
Made possible as a project assisted by the Australian Government

A talented and diverse group of fifty music creators from across Australia are the recipients of APRA AMCOS' Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Music Office's $100,000 Sustainability Fund, a project funded by the Australian Government.

The purpose of the one-time $2,000 grant is to provide financial support to songwriter and composer members whose livelihoods have been significantly impacted by recent events, and enable them to create and sustain career development during the COVID-19 crisis.

Minister for Communications, Cyber Safety and the Arts, the Hon Paul Fletcher MP, said the funding will provide important support for contemporary Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander songwriters and creators.

“The Australian Government is proud to provide these grants that will see First Nations songwriters supported so that they can continue to share their exceptional creative talent and culture. This will help to sustain Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander creators and is in recognition of the vital contribution they make to the Australian music industry.”

Leah Flanagan, National Manager, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Music Office, said, "Right now, we need to be bold in our support of Australia's first storytellers. These cash grants are vital to music creators at a time when income sources – particularly from live – have evaporated, as have many other artistic opportunities.

"I'd like to congratulate all of the recipients and extend a wholehearted thank you to all who applied and shared their stories."

With recipients coming from all states and territories, across metro, regional and remote communities, and working in a wide range of genres spanning country, electronic, metal, classical, hip-hop and beyond, the list showcases the incredible Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander talent in contemporary music. Full list below.

In addition to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Music Office's Sustainability Fund, APRA AMCOS' general Sustainability Fund has awarded two rounds of $2,000 grants to 325 songwriter and composer members.

The Sustainability Fund is an initiative led by APRA Board Chair Jenny Morris and her board colleagues in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. The fund's aim is to provide financial support that allows members to continue to create new work and sustain career development.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Music Office Sustainability Fund recipients

Adam James
Allara Pattison (Allara)
Amanda Davis (Mindy Kwanten & Bow and Arrow)
Amy Dowd (Bumpy & Squid Nebula)
Andrew Craker   
Bart Willoughby (No Fixed Address /Mixed Relations /The Bart Willoughby Band)
Brenda Gifford
Brian Lloyd (Bryte)
Bunna Lawrie (Coloured Stone)
Christine Anu     
Chris Tamwoy
Jon Vea Vea
Dallas Woods
Daniel Rankine (TRIALS)
Daniel Riches (The Struggling Kings)
Danielle Teveluwe            
Danzal Baker (Baker Boy)
Deline Briscoe     
Duke Bailey (Duke Box)
Eleanor Dixon (Kardajala Kirridarra)
Emma Councillor (Emma Donovan)
Garth Edwards (JPoint)
Gavin McLean (Demo Gubbz)
Glenn Skuthorpe
Jamie Ramzan
Jeremy Whiskey
Joe Geia
Kevin Bennett (Kevin Bennett and The Flood)
Kiwat Kennell (Key Hoo)
Kristel Kickett (The Merindas)
Kutcha Edwards
Lann Levinge
Marcus Corowa
Marlene Cummins
Miiesha Young (Miiesha)
Mi-kaisha Masella            
Naarah Shaye Barnes (Naarah)
Nancy Bates        
Naomi Wenitong (The Last Kinection)
Nathan May        
Patrick Mau (Mau Power)
Ricky Harrison (Ricky Harrison/No Fixed Address)
Rochelle Pitt       
Buddy Knox
Shannon Williams (BrothaBlack)
Sonya Holowell  
Sue Ray 
Tamara Williams (Tamwah)
Thomas Avery (blakboi)
Zaachariaha Fielding (Electric Fields)

Site Menu

Search the Website