Hope D is the 2020 Carol Lloyd Award winner

Friday, 20 Nov 2020

Carol Lloyd Award winner Hope D (photo: supplied)

This year's $15,000 Carol Lloyd Award goes to Brisbane singer-songwriter Hope D. The annual honour is presented by QMusic and proudly supported by the Queensland Government through Arts Queensland and APRA AMCOS.

  • The Carol Lloyd Award honours the contribution the late Carol Lloyd made to the Queensland music scene
  • The $15,000 award supports an emerging Queensland femxle-identifying or non-binary singer-songwriter
  • The money is to help fund recording a full-length album or record and tour an EP

Hope D has taken out the 2020 award over finalists Clea, Dana, Felivand and MiCCY, and highly commended artists Eleea and Mayah.

“Congratulations to Hope D who we are extremely proud to honour with this award and help support her rising music career,” said QMusic CEO Angela Samut.

“Hope joins previous winners of the Carol Lloyd Award including Leanne Tennant, Saraha Beck and Georgia Potter (Moreton) whose careers continue to go from strength to strength.”

“The Carol Lloyd Award is an initiative that addresses the gender imbalance in the music industry by providing the means to create new music and does this while also championing Queensland’s emerging femxle-identifying and non-binary singer-songwriters.

"We are proud to be involved with this career-changing honour and wholeheartedly congratulate Hope D on
taking out the award this year,” said Jana Gibson, APRA AMCOS Head of Member Services.

Past recipients of the Carol Lloyd Award include Sahara Beck (2019), Leanne Tennant (2018) and Georgia Potter (Moreton) (2017).

The Carol Lloyd Award forms part of QMusic’s Womxn in Music program which delivers a suite of events
and initiatives, including QMxntorship, which create opportunities for music industry musicians and professionals to upskill, innovate and become future leaders.

Site Menu

Search the Website